AWS Global AI Challenge

AI Education: An Economic Imperative

Programs for Women & BIPOC Youth (ages 13-25+)

AWS Global AI Challenge

Our free annual event, The AWS Global AI Challenge, launched in 2019, has the potential to reach millions of marginalized women, higher ed students and entrepreneurs through our education, government and corporate partners. It is our goal to provide beginner-level women, underserved college/university students and entrepreneurs with free cloud education, live mentoring/coaching and access to scholarships, apprenticeships, job opportunities, startup accelerators, funding and more!

OBJECTIVES
  • In rapid response to COVID-19, fuel progress in the area of economic opportunity and cloud education for global women and underrepresented youth, leveraging AWS
  • Explore how companies and governments can collaborate with educators to prepare students for the #FutureOfWork and #Entrepreneurship.
  • Increase youth civic participation and advance more inclusive education and economic policies for women and underrepresented youth.
  • Help female, underrepresented youth and entrepreneurs find career training, mentorship, leadership development, networking opportunities, employment and funding in a tech industry that is predominantly male and white.
  • Use AI/ML as a meaningful tool for improving people’s lives and solving some of society’s biggest challenges – addressing the 17 United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals.

2021 Global Amazon Alexa Skills Challenge

Learn to build an Alexa skill on AWS. Learn your way – with self-paced digital training, videos, live workshops, discussions, and virtual team mentoring/coaching. This program will:
  1. Teach you the basics of building an Alexa skill using Amazon Web Services (AWS).
  2. Introduce you to essential professional skills, career-development tools, resources & learning
This program is aimed at beginners who have never built an Alexa skill and it uses similar methods of explaining the basics as other books and tutorials available. It differs in that all the lessons and demos aim to get you started building on AWS and imagining what is possible with voice and cloud technology. Let’s build!

2021 Schedule/Curriculum

Plan to spend 20+ hours using these lessons and working with your team to complete your project.

Designed to accommodate multiple time zones:

Online Training:

  • Saturdays Jan 9 – Feb 6, 8:00am – 9:55am PST |  5:00pm – 6:55pm WAT

Team Build Sessions:

  • Saturdays Feb 13 – Feb 27, 8:00am – 9:55am PST |  5:00pm – 6:55pm WAT
  • You will have these 3 additional weeks to work independently with your team and mentor to complete and submit your projects.

Mentor Office Hours:

  • Saturdays 10:00am -11:55am PST | 7:00pm – 8:55pm WAT

Final Project Submissions Due:

  • Saturday Mar 6, 11:00am PST | 8:00pm WAT – Code Freeze + Submit to the Alexa Skill Store
  • Saturday Mar 13, 11:00am PST | 8:00pm WAT – Video Fast-Pitch Demo

 

Labels: Required, Recommended, or Optional  

WEEK 1 – Saturday 1/9/21 

Getting Started – Welcome!

Time  Topic Format Label
 

8:00am – 9:55am PST | 5:00pm – 6:55pm WAT

 

 

Introduction

Microsoft Teams Training

Live Workshop / Will Be Recorded Required
9:00am – 9:55am PST | 6:00pm – 6:55pm WAT Getting Started/Alexa Demo

Create Your Game Plan & Open AWS Developer Account

Live Workshop / Will Be Recorded Required
10:00am -11:55am PST | 7:00pm – 8:55pm WAT Office Hours Live With Trainer Required
12:00pm – 12:55pm PST | 9:00pm – 9:55pm WAT Artificial Intelligence & Amazon Alexa Live Workshop / Will Be Recorded Required

 

WEEK 2 – Saturday 1/16/21

Interaction Model Deep-Dive!

Time  Topic Format Label
8:00am – 8:55am PST | 5:00pm – 5:55pm WAT Interaction Model – Deep Dive Live Workshop / Will Be Recorded Required
9:00am – 9:55am PST | 6:00pm – 6:55pm WAT

 

UX/UI Designing for Voice Live Workshop / Will Be Recorded Required
10:00am -11:55am PST | 7:00pm – 8:55pm WAT Office Hours Live With Trainer Required
WEEK 3 – Saturday 1/23/21

Application Logic

Time Topic Format Label
8:00am – 8:55am PST | 5:00pm – 5:55pm WAT Stanford Design Thinking Process Live Workshop / Will Be Recorded Required
9:00am – 9:25am PST | 6:00pm – 6:25pm WAT Office Hours Live With Trainer Required
9:30am – 10:25am PST | 6:30pm – 7:25pm WAT Application Logic Live Workshop / Will Be Recorded Required
10:30am -11:55am PST | 7:30pm – 8:55pm WAT Office Hours Live With Trainer Required
12:00pm – 12:55pm PST | 9:00pm – 9:55pm WAT Unleashing Computer Vision on the Edge Live Workshop / Will Be Recorded Required
**Teams & mentors assigned between Week 3 & 4**

WEEK 4 – Saturday 1/30/21

Publishing Your Skill

Time Topic Format Label
8:00am – 8:55am PST | 5:00pm – 5:55pm WAT Publishing Your Skill Live Workshop / Will Be Recorded Required
9:00am – 9:55am PST | 6:00pm – 6:55pm WAT Office Hours Live With Your Trainer Required
10:00am -10:30am PST | 7:00pm – 7:30pm WAT Team-Building / Mind-Mapping  First Group Live Workshop / Will Be Recorded Required
10:30am -10:55am PST | 7:30pm – 7:55pm WAT Team-Building / Mind-Mapping  Second Group Live Workshop / Will Be Recorded Required
11:00am -11:45am PST | 8:00pm – 8:45pm WAT Kanban Activity  First Group Live With Your Mentor Required
12:00pm – 12:45pm PST | 9:00pm – 9:45pm WAT Kanban Activity  Second Group Live With Your Mentor Required
WEEK 5 – Saturday 2/6/21

Let’s Build!

Time Topic Format Label
8:00am – 9:25am PST | 5:00pm – 6:25pm WAT Cybersecurity Workshop

Global Workforce Discussion

Live Workshop / Will Be Recorded Required
9:30am – 10:25am PST | 6:30pm – 7:25pm WAT Team Project-Build Breakout Session Live With Your Mentor Required
 10:30am -11:25am PST | 7:30pm – 8:25pm WAT

BREAK

Weekly Mentor Office Hours or Schedule With Your Mentor Live With Your Mentor
Required
12:00pm – 12:55pm PST | 9:00pm – 9:55pm WAT Surprise Speaker: AWS Educate

Education to Workforce: Insights from the Cloud Job Market 

Live Workshop / Will Be Recorded Required

**Training is Now Complete. Please Schedule Mentor & Team Meetings for Weeks 6 – 8**

WEEK 6 – 2/13/21          

Project Build Continued

Time Topic Format Label
8:00am – 9:55am PST |  5:00pm – 6:55pm WAT Team Build Sessions Live With Your Teams Required
10:00am -11:55am PST | 7:00pm – 8:55pm WAT Weekly Mentor Office Hours or Schedule With Your Mentor Live With Your Mentor Required

WEEK 7 – 2/20/21          

Project Build Continued

Time Topic Format Label
8:00am – 9:55am PST |  5:00pm – 6:55pm WAT Team Build Sessions Live With Your Teams Required
10:00am -11:55am PST | 7:00pm – 8:55pm WAT Weekly Mentor Office Hours or Schedule With Your Mentor Live With Your Mentor Required

WEEK 8 – 2/27/21          

Project Build Continued

Time Topic Format Label
8:00am – 9:55am PST |  5:00pm – 6:55pm WAT Team Build Sessions Live With Your Teams Required
10:00am -11:55am PST | 7:00pm – 8:55pm WAT Weekly Mentor Office Hours or Schedule With Your Mentor Live With Your Mentor Required

FINAL PROJECT SUBMISSIONS DUE      

  • Saturday Mar 6, 11:00am PST | 8:00pm WAT – Code Freeze + Submit to the Alexa Skill Store
  • Saturday Mar 13, 11:00am PST | 8:00pm WAT – Video Fast-Pitch Demo

2019 Impact Highlights – AWS Chatbot Challenge

(In partnership with Amazon Web Services and WomenOfAI.org)

The 2019 AWS Chatbot Challenge was initiated to ensure that young individuals with some coding experience have the needed skills to become gainfully employed and fulfilled. The program was targeted at up-skilling young individuals in San Diego and beyond with cloud, AI and entrepreneurial skills.
OBJECTIVES
To explore:
  • What technology can do for governments and our communities
  • How employers, educators and governments can work together to ensure high school and college students receive a quality, affordable education and are prepared for digital transformation in the workplace
SOCIAL IMPACT HIGHLIGHTS
Students registered: 61; 51% male/49% female, ages ranging from ~20 – 34

27 colleges and universities

Geography: Southern California and Mexico — we are making a cross-border impact!

Education level: High school grads, Associates and Baccalaureate degrees

AWS experience level: 96% Beginner/4% Intermediate

Mentors, Judges, Volunteers: 22 (local IT and tech professionals)

Keynote/Panel Speakers: 8 leaders in tech: Erica Lee (Founder, WomenOfAI.org), JJ Digeronimo (President, TechSavvyWomen), Bridget Kimball (Athena Board Member, VP and Chief Architect, Intuit Consumer Group), Shannon Maas (Senior Software Engineer at Netflix), Feyzi Fatehi (Chairman and CEO of Corent Technology), Luis Martinez, (MSOL, Director Startup Grind San Diego) Vanessa Miranda (VP LatinaGeeks San Diego, VP Girls in Tech San Diego), Franky Fuentes, Ph.D. (Data Driven Diversity & Inclusion Scholar) Christiana Russell (Panel Moderator, M.Ed, Founding Member at San Diego Tech Hub)
Panel Topics: 1) How we can close the gender and racial gap in tech with the support of education policy; 2) What tech companies can do to move the needle on equity, diversity, and inclusion
Trainers: 2 technology professionals: Sam Rastovich (ThingLogix, AWS Public Sector Partner) and Franky Fuentes, Ph.D. (Data Driven Diversity & Inclusion Scholar)
Close Bitnami banner
Bitnami