AI Education: An Economic Imperative

Programs for Women & BIPOC Youth (ages 13-25+)

’21 Global Innovation Summit (Virtual)

For business leaders, educators, nonprofits and civic leaders from the US and across the globe. The Global Innovation Summit includes keynote speakers, leadership roundtable discussions, fast-pitch demos, tech all-star judges, scholarship prizes, and more! Attendees from campus communities, EDequity.Global sponsors, partners, community members, mentors, judges, volunteers and more!

The Global Innovation Summit is our 2-Day AWS AI Challenge “Finale Event” which showcases youth technology solutions to global problems, leveraging Amazon Web Services (AWS). Forty-five women, underrepresented college/university students and entrepreneurs from 6 countries (over 70% participants from Nigeria, then USA, India, Kenya, Brazil and Mexico) will have completed the 5-week AI primer, formed teams and built Alexa Skills to address one or more of the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

Highlights

  • 3 trail-blazing keynotes
  • 17 leaders from the U.S. and across the globe
  • 8 team fast-pitch demos
  • 6 tech all-star judges
  • 20 AWS scholarships awarded
  • 350+ attendees
  • 30+ partners

Schedule

APRIL 28 – GLOBAL DIALOGUE: Bold Leadership for a Better Future Hours: 7am – 2pm PDT | 3pm – 10pm WAT

2 KEYNOTES | 3 ROUNDTABLES | 17 LEADERS FROM THE U.S. AND ACROSS THE GLOBE

Business leaders, educators, nonprofits and civic leaders from the US and across the globe will be invited to discuss the most pressing political, economic, climate action and human rights issues facing this generation today. Specifically, what are the workforce strategies, policies and initiatives needed to accelerate the adoption of digital learning and innovation. How can companies and governments collaborate with educators to prepare students for the #FutureOfWork and #Entrepreneurship. How do we use AI/ML as a meaningful tool for improving people’s lives and solving some of society’s biggest challenges – addressing the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals. In the face of the global COVID crises, how do we build back better with sustainable growth, and a more equitable, just, inclusive society, by leveraging untapped human capital and technology.

Keynote 1: 7:00am-7:30am PDT / 3:00pm-3:30pm WAT

  • Diya Wynn, AI/ML Ethics Lead, Emerging Technologies & Intelligent Platforms at Amazon Web Services

Keynote 2: 7:30am-8:00am PDT / 3:30pm-4:00pm WAT

  • Mariana Holliday, Sr. Program Manager – International AWS Educate

Q&A: 8:00am-8:30am PDT / 4:00pm – 4:30pm WAT

Co-Moderators:

  • Laurie Carey, Founder & Executive Director, We Connect The Dots, Inc, CEO of Nebula Academy
  • Shauna Ruyle, Founder & Executive Director, EDequity.Global

LEADERSHIP ROUNDTABLE 1 | 8:45am-10:15am PDT / 4:45pm-6:15pm WAT | GOVERNMENT: Economic Innovation (for Distressed Communities) through Digital Skills Development

Speakers:

LEADERSHIP ROUNDTABLE 2 | 10:30am-12:00pm PDT / 6:30pm-8:00pm WAT | GLOBAL TRENDS: The Future of Democracy through Digital Cooperation and Sustainability

Speakers:

LEADERSHIP ROUNDTABLE 3 | 12:15pm-1:45pm PDT / 8:15pm-9:45pm WAT | TECHNOLOGY: Embracing Data Ethics as an Essential Part of Business Strategy

Speakers:

APRIL 17 – AWS DEMO DAY: Youth Technology Solutions to Global ProblemsHours: 7am – 11am PDT / 3pm – 7pm WAT

1 KEYNOTE | 8 TEAM FAST-PITCH DEMOS | 6 TECH ALL-STAR JUDGES | 20 AWS SCHOLARSHIPS AWARDED

Following the 5-week artificial intelligence (AI) primer and project submissions, international teams of women, underrepresented college/university students and entrepreneurs delivered their fast-pitch demos on AWS Demo Day at the Global Innovation Summit for a chance to win scholarships toward AWS training & certification! Participants come from 6 countries including (Nigeria, USA, India, Kenya, Brazil and Mexico).

Keynote: 7:00am-7:30am PDT / 3:00pm-3:30pm WAT

  • London J. Bell, J.D., LL.M., 2020 African Descent Fellow, U.N. Office of High Commissioner for Human Rights, Commission on the Status of Women & Girls, Founder and President Bell Global Justice Institute

Video Highlights of ’21 AWS Demo Day

 

Close Bitnami banner
Bitnami